Skip to content
  • beauty
  • food
  • industrial
  • pharma

Talc

CAS 8043-56-9 · 70/100 · High conf.

Also registered as 12 other CAS numbers

11119-41-8 · 12420-12-1 · 37232-12-5 · 99638-63-8 · 110540-41-5 · 184973-42-0 · 1170673-66-1 · 1308319-75-6 · 1385633-70-4 · 2403462-24-6 · 2640599-87-5 · 14807-96-6

Talc chemical structure

Concern score

70/100High concern based on regulatory listings.
High confidence

Talc in plain language

What it is

Also known as Talcum powder · Pulvis talci · Purified talc · Talc: Hydrated magnesium silicate · Huashifen · Talc powder

Show all 27 names

Agalite · Antimyst · Asbestine · BST (talc) · Beaver White 200 · Beaver White 325 · E-553(III) · Ins NO.553(III) · INS-553(III) · Q134583 · Sclerosol · Steritalc · Talc (Mg3H2(SiO3)4) · Talc (Mg3H2(SiO3)4) (CI 77718) · Talc (containing no asbestos fibers) · Talc filler · Talc(14807-96-6) · Talc, · Talc; Magnesium Silicate Hydrate · hydrous magnesium silicate · talc (containing no asbestos)

What it does

Used in cosmetics as an abrasive, a skin protectant and an absorbent. Talc is a powdered native, hydrous magnesium silicate sometimes containing a small portion of aluminum silicate.

  • Abrasive
  • Skin protecting
  • Absorbent
  • Anticaking
  • Bulking
  • Opacifying
Is it a concern?
High concern: no hazard classifications on record. It is restricted in EU cosmetics.

Why it's flagged

Talc: Hydrated magnesium silicate is restricted in cosmetic products under Annex III of the EU Cosmetics Regulation (EC) 1223/2009.

RestrictedEU EC — restricted

The score describes this ingredient's chemical identity — its hazard profile from published classifications and regulatory status — not the safety of any product it appears in.

Regulation

Restrictions first, then routine listings from published regulatory sources.

  • In marketed US drugs
  • EU Annex III — restricted
  • EU restricted in cosmetics
  • Inactive ingredient in US drugs

Recorded in these product areas

  • Found in consumer products
  • Industrial
  • EUEC

    Annex III of EU Cosmetics Regulation (EC) 1223/2009: substances which cosmetic products must not contain except subject to the restrictions laid down. Product types: (a) Powdery products intended to be used for children under 3 years of age (b) Other products Conditions of use and warnings: (a) Keep powder away from children's nose and mouth

    restricted
    View source →
  • USFDAinactive ingredient database35 entries — 5 administration routes
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 420 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 5119 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: DROPS; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: ELIXIR; Potency: 4.5 mg/5mlSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE; Maximum daily exposure: 322 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 525 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 296 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: LOZENGE; Maximum daily exposure: 50 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: PELLET; Maximum daily exposure: 69 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 735 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 234 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 46 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Potency: 1000 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, CHEWABLE; Maximum daily exposure: 202 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, CHEWABLE, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 18 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, COATED; Potency: 320.75 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 349 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, DELAYED RELEASE PARTICLES; Maximum daily exposure: 56 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 300 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FILM COATED; Maximum daily exposure: 91 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FILM COATED, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 60 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 24 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, ORALLY DISINTEGRATING; Maximum daily exposure: 80 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, ORALLY DISINTEGRATING, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 357 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, SUGAR COATED; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: RECTAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Potency: 32.4 mgSource →
    • Route: SUBLINGUAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Potency: 32.4 mgSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: OINTMENT; Potency: 74.6 %w/wSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: POWDER; Maximum daily exposure: 9235 mgSource →
    • Route: BUCCAL; Dosage form: GUM, CHEWING; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: BUCCAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Potency: 15 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE; Maximum daily exposure: 729 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, COATED; Maximum daily exposure: 87 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, COATED PELLETS; Potency: 14 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, COATED, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 20 mgSource →
  • EUCosIngActive2 entries
    • Cosmetics Regulation annex III / ref 59.Source →
    • Talc is a powdered native, hydrous magnesium silicate sometimes containing a small portion of aluminum silicate. Restriction: III/59Source →
  • EUEFSAEFSA opinion2 entries
    • Re-evaluation of calcium silicate (E 552), magnesium silicate (E 553a(i)), magnesium trisilicate (E 553a(ii)) and talc (E 553b) as food additives (EFSA ANS)Source →
    • Safety and efficacy of natural mixtures of talc (steatite) and chlorite (E 560) as a feed additive for all animal species (EFSA FEEDAP)Source →
  • USFDAlisted in openFDA substance2 entries
    • openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as concept.Source →
    • openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.Source →
  • GLOBALJECFANOT SPECIFIEDJECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: thickener, anticaking agent, bulking agent, chewing gum base compound, filtering aid, glazing agent.
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: thickener, anticaking agent, bulking agent, chewing gum base compound, filtering aid, glazing agent.Source →
  • USEPAcommercial use observedEPA CPDat observed this chemical in 13323 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Raw materials, Furniture and furnishings. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Abrasive, Absorbent, Volumizing Agent.
    • EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 13323 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Raw materials, Furniture and furnishings. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Abrasive, Absorbent, Volumizing Agent.Source →
  • USFDAmarketed drug occurrenceFDA NDC lists this ingredient in 4 active drug products and 4 total products.
    • FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 4 active drug products and 4 total products.Source →

Expert safety opinions

Independent scientific assessments cited by the records we hold, with the year and link where the record gives one.

  • SCCS

    EU Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety

    No SCCS opinion on file.

  • CIR

    Cosmetic Ingredient Review (US expert panel)

    No CIR safety assessment on file.

  • EFSA

    European Food Safety Authority

    • Re-evaluation of calcium silicate (E 552), magnesium silicate (E 553a(i)), magnesium trisilicate (E 553a(ii)) and talc (E 553b) as food additives (EFSA ANS)

      2018 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

    • Safety and efficacy of natural mixtures of talc (steatite) and chlorite (E 560) as a feed additive for all animal species (EFSA FEEDAP)

      2018 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

  • JECFA

    Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: thickener, anticaking agent, bulking agent, chewing gum base compound, filtering aid, glazing agent.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

Evidence & sources

No graded research studies for Talc yet. This record is compiled from the published data sources below — registries and regulatory listings, not study findings.

11 data sources

Where this comes from

  • CosIng

    regulatory · updated 2026-09-23

    Open →
  • EU CosIng Cosmetics Regulation Annexes

    regulatory · updated 2024-10-22

    Open →
  • EFSA OpenFoodTox

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • EPA Chemical and Products Database

    exposure · updated september 25, 2015

    Open →
  • EPA DSSTox Identifiers

    chemistry · updated 2025-12-29

    Open →
  • FDA Inactive Ingredient Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-01-09

    Open →
  • FDA National Drug Code Directory

    regulatory · updated 2026-12-31

    Open →
  • FDA GSRS UNII

    registry · updated 2026-02-26

    Open →
  • WHO JECFA Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • openFDA Substance

    registry · updated 2026-05-24

    Open →
  • PubChem Live Enrichment

    chemistry · updated 2026-05-17

    Open →
Reference links (1)
Openfda substance

codexalimentarius.net

Suitability

Context-specific fit derived from published classifications and the current ingredient evidence profile.

Food use

Food-use source coverage is present in the current record.

Good fit

The ingredient appears in food-oriented source coverage or allowed-use references, which makes food use easier to support than a context with no domain signal at all.

Fragrance avoidance

No fragrance-linked caution surfaced in the current profile.

Good fit

This ingredient does not currently read as a fragrance-linked driver in the published evidence and hazard profile.

Where it has been recorded

How often EPA CPDat has listed Talc in a product composition. These are source records, not Greenveil catalog products.

Source records

13,323

Named organisations

6

Construction and building materialsRaw materialsFurniture and furnishingsHome maintenanceVehicleConstruction

Typical roles

AbrasiveSkin protectingAbsorbentAnticakingBulkingOpacifying
See products using Talc →

Catalog

Found in these products

Their ingredient lists include Talc; each product's own rating depends on its whole formula, so it is shown on the product page, not here.