Skip to content
  • beauty
  • cleaning
  • food
  • pharma

Maltitol

CAS 97906-38-2 · 40/100 · High conf.

Also registered as 1 other CAS number

585-88-6

Maltitol chemical structure

Concern score

40/100Moderate concern based on regulatory listings.
High confidence

Maltitol in plain language

What it is

Also known as 4-O-alpha-D-Glucopyranosyl-D-glucitol · Dried maltitol syrup · Hydrogenated high maltose-content glucose syrup · Hydrogenated maltose · Amalty mr 100 · Cerestar 16303

Show all 26 names

Lycasin hbc · Malbit ch 16385 · Maltidex ch 16385 · Maltisweet 3145 · Maltitol syrup powder · Sweetpearl p 200 · 4-O-.alpha.-D-Glucopyranosyl-D-glucitol · Amalty · D-Maltitol · E-965(I) · GlyTouCan:G24381FI · Ins NO.965(I) · INS-965(I) · Lesys · Mabit · Mabit 50M · Malti-MR 100 · Maltidex · alpha-D-glucopyranosyl-(1->4)-D-glucitol · Maltitol solution

What it does

Used in cosmetics as a humectant, a moisturiser and a skin-conditioning agent.

  • Humectant
  • Moisturising
  • Skin conditioning
  • Fragrance
  • Bulking agent, humectant, stabilizer, sweetener
  • Flavouring
Is it a concern?
Moderate concern: no hazard classifications on record. It is listed for cosmetic use in the EU.

Why it's flagged

EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 35 composition records across product categories including Personal care, Food and drug.

The score describes this ingredient's chemical identity — its hazard profile from published classifications and regulatory status — not the safety of any product it appears in.

Regulation

No restrictions found. Maltitol appears in these published regulatory listings.

  • Inactive ingredient in US drugs

Recorded in these product areas

  • Found in consumer products
  • Beauty
  • Cleaning
  • Pharma
  • Food
  • USFDAinactive ingredient database7 entries — 3 administration routes
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: FILM, SOLUBLE; Maximum daily exposure: 44 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SOLUTION; Maximum daily exposure: 9000 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 5280 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, ORALLY DISINTEGRATING; Maximum daily exposure: 1 mgSource →
    • Route: SUBLINGUAL; Dosage form: FILM; Maximum daily exposure: 24 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE; Maximum daily exposure: 155 mgSource →
    • Route: BUCCAL; Dosage form: GUM, CHEWING; Maximum daily exposure: 4932 mgSource →
  • EUCosIngActiveListed in CosIng inventory for cosmetic use.
    • Listed in CosIng inventory for cosmetic use.Source →
  • GLOBALJECFANOT SPECIFIEDJECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: bulking agent, humectant, stabilizer, sweetener.
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: bulking agent, humectant, stabilizer, sweetener.Source →
  • GLOBALJECFAEvaluatedJECFA evaluation record.
  • USEPAcommercial use observedEPA CPDat observed this chemical in 35 composition records across product categories including Personal care, Food and drug. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Humectant, Deodorizer, Softener and conditioner.
    • EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 35 composition records across product categories including Personal care, Food and drug. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Humectant, Deodorizer, Softener and conditioner.Source →
  • USFDAlisted in openFDA substanceopenFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.
    • openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.Source →

Expert safety opinions

Independent scientific assessments cited by the records we hold, with the year and link where the record gives one.

  • SCCS

    EU Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety

    No SCCS opinion on file.

  • CIR

    Cosmetic Ingredient Review (US expert panel)

    No CIR safety assessment on file.

  • JECFA

    Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: bulking agent, humectant, stabilizer, sweetener.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

    • JECFA evaluation record.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

Evidence & sources

No graded research studies for Maltitol yet. This record is compiled from the published data sources below — registries and regulatory listings, not study findings.

8 data sources

Where this comes from

  • CosIng

    regulatory · updated 2026-09-23

    Open →
  • EPA Chemical and Products Database

    exposure · updated November 2018

    Open →
  • EPA DSSTox Identifiers

    chemistry · updated 2025-12-29

    Open →
  • FDA Inactive Ingredient Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-01-09

    Open →
  • FDA GSRS UNII

    registry · updated 2026-02-26

    Open →
  • WHO JECFA Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • openFDA Substance

    registry · updated 2026-05-24

    Open →
  • PubChem Live Enrichment

    chemistry · updated 2026-05-17

    Open →
Reference links (1)
Openfda substance

codexalimentarius.net

Allergen profile

Canonical allergen markers detected on this ingredient. Each row is derived from the ingredient’s name or synonyms matching a known allergen class — useful when scanning a label for a specific allergy context.

  • GlutenContains · Oral (ingested)

    Source: chemindex_name_match

Suitability

Context-specific fit derived from published classifications and the current ingredient evidence profile.

Food use

Food-use source coverage is present in the current record.

Good fit

The ingredient appears in food-oriented source coverage or allowed-use references, which makes food use easier to support than a context with no domain signal at all.

Fragrance avoidance

Not a strong fit for fragrance avoidance because it carries Fragrance.

Avoid

The ingredient itself is a fragrance-linked signal, so it is better treated as an avoid case when fragrance exposure is the main concern.

Where it has been recorded

How often EPA CPDat has listed Maltitol in a product composition. These are source records, not Greenveil catalog products.

Source records

35

Named organisations

6

Personal careFood and drug

Typical roles

HumectantMoisturisingSkin conditioningFragranceBulking agent, humectant, stabilizer, sweetenerFlavouring
See products using Maltitol →

Catalog

Found in these products

Their ingredient lists include Maltitol; each product's own rating depends on its whole formula, so it is shown on the product page, not here.