Skip to content
  • beauty
  • cleaning
  • food
  • industrial

Anhydrous trisodium citrate

CAS 68-04-2 · 40/100 · High conf.

Also registered as 8 other CAS numbers

994-36-5 · 8055-55-8 · 183748-56-3 · 856354-90-0 · 1000844-65-4 · 1648840-06-5 · 2095548-08-4 · 2490283-85-5

Anhydrous trisodium citrate chemical structure

Concern score

40/100Moderate concern based on regulatory listings.
High confidence

Anhydrous trisodium citrate in plain language

What it is

Also known as Sodium Citrate · Anhydrous sodium citrate · Sodium citrate anhydrous · Trisodium citrate · 1,2,3-PROPANETRICARBOXYLIC acid, 2-HYDROXY-, trisodium salt · Trisodium salt citric acid

Show all 25 names

Citrosodine · Natrocitral · Trisodium 2-hydroxypropane-1,2,3-tricarboxylate · 331iii · Bicitra · Citnatin · Citra-lock · Citreme · Citrosodina · Citrosodna · E-331(III) · Ins NO.331(III) · INS-331(III) · Ional · Sodium citrate (Na3C6H5O7) · Trisodium-citrate · Unifine P 3 · Urisal · Natrii citras

What it does

Used in food as an acidity regulator, sequestrant, stabilizer.

  • Acidity regulator, sequestrant, stabilizer
  • Preservative
  • Surfactant
  • Chelating agent
  • pH adjuster
  • Thickener
Is it a concern?
Moderate concern: no hazard classifications on record.

Why it's flagged

EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 3562 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Specialty occupational products, Cleaning and safety.

The score describes this ingredient's chemical identity — its hazard profile from published classifications and regulatory status — not the safety of any product it appears in.

Regulation

No restrictions found. Anhydrous trisodium citrate appears in these published regulatory listings.

  • In marketed US drugs
  • Inactive ingredient in US drugs

Recorded in these product areas

  • Found in consumer products
  • Beauty
  • Cleaning
  • Pharma
  • Food
  • Industrial
  • USFDAinactive ingredient database30 entries — 12 administration routes
    • Route: INTRA-ARTICULAR; Dosage form: INJECTION; Maximum daily exposure: 22 mgSource →
    • Route: INTRALESIONAL; Dosage form: INJECTION; Maximum daily exposure: 22 mgSource →
    • Route: INTRAMUSCULAR; Dosage form: INJECTION; Maximum daily exposure: 792 mgSource →
    • Route: INTRAMUSCULAR; Dosage form: INJECTION, POWDER, FOR SOLUTION; Maximum daily exposure: 240 mgSource →
    • Route: INTRAVENOUS; Dosage form: CONCENTRATE; Maximum daily exposure: 24 mgSource →
    • Route: INTRAVENOUS; Dosage form: INJECTION; Maximum daily exposure: 792 mgSource →
    • Route: INTRAVENOUS; Dosage form: INJECTION, POWDER, FOR SOLUTION; Maximum daily exposure: 240 mgSource →
    • Route: INTRAVENOUS; Dosage form: INJECTION, SOLUTION; Maximum daily exposure: 24 mgSource →
    • Route: INTRAVENOUS; Dosage form: SOLUTION, CONCENTRATE; Maximum daily exposure: 24 mgSource →
    • Route: NASAL; Dosage form: SPRAY; Maximum daily exposure: 8 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE, EFFERVESCENT; Potency: 935 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 4000 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER, FOR SOLUTION; Potency: 48 mg/5mlSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 320 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SOLUTION; Maximum daily exposure: 240 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 21 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 47 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SYRUP; Maximum daily exposure: 156 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Maximum daily exposure: 720 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, CHEWABLE; Potency: 72.5 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, DELAYED RELEASE; Potency: 15 mgSource →
    • Route: RESPIRATORY (INHALATION); Dosage form: SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 2 mgSource →
    • Route: SOFT TISSUE; Dosage form: INJECTION; Maximum daily exposure: 22 mgSource →
    • Route: SUBCUTANEOUS; Dosage form: INJECTION; Potency: 0.94 %w/vSource →
    • Route: SUBLINGUAL; Dosage form: FILM; Maximum daily exposure: 4 mgSource →
    • Route: SUBLINGUAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Maximum daily exposure: 36 mgSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: CREAM; Maximum daily exposure: 4 mgSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: LOTION; Potency: 0.08 %w/wSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: SOLUTION; Potency: 0.1 %w/vSource →
    • Route: INTRABURSAL; Dosage form: INJECTION; Potency: 1 %w/vSource →
  • GLOBALJECFANOT LIMITED ("Not specified")JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT LIMITED ("Not specified"). Functional class: acidity regulator, sequestrant, stabilizer.
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT LIMITED ("Not specified"). Functional class: acidity regulator, sequestrant, stabilizer.Source →
  • USEPAcommercial use observedEPA CPDat observed this chemical in 3562 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Specialty occupational products, Cleaning and safety. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Chelating agent, pH regulating agent, Deodorizer.
    • EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 3562 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Specialty occupational products, Cleaning and safety. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Chelating agent, pH regulating agent, Deodorizer.Source →
  • USFDAmarketed drug occurrenceFDA NDC lists this ingredient in 1 active drug products and 1 total products.
    • FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 1 active drug products and 1 total products.Source →
  • USFDAlisted in openFDA substanceopenFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.
    • openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.Source →
  • USUSDA FoodData Centralobserved in branded food ingredient statementsObserved in 1 USDA branded foods including 1.75L Bloody Mary with Horseradish (MED).
    • Observed in 1 USDA branded foods including 1.75L Bloody Mary with Horseradish (MED).Source →

Expert safety opinions

Independent scientific assessments cited by the records we hold, with the year and link where the record gives one.

  • JECFA

    Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT LIMITED ("Not specified"). Functional class: acidity regulator, sequestrant, stabilizer.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

  • EFSA

    European Food Safety Authority

    No EFSA opinion on file.

Evidence & sources

No graded research studies for Anhydrous trisodium citrate yet. This record is compiled from the published data sources below — registries and regulatory listings, not study findings.

9 data sources

Where this comes from

  • EPA Chemical and Products Database

    exposure · updated september 30, 2011

    Open →
  • EPA DSSTox Identifiers

    chemistry · updated 2025-12-29

    Open →
  • FDA Inactive Ingredient Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-01-09

    Open →
  • FDA National Drug Code Directory

    regulatory · updated 2026-12-31

    Open →
  • FDA GSRS UNII

    registry · updated 2026-02-26

    Open →
  • WHO JECFA Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • openFDA Substance

    registry · updated 2026-05-24

    Open →
  • PubChem Live Enrichment

    chemistry · updated 2026-05-17

    Open →
  • USDA Branded Foods

    product_occurrence · updated 2026-02-19

    Open →
Reference links (2)
Openfda substance

en.wikipedia.org

Openfda substance

codexalimentarius.net

Suitability

Context-specific fit derived from published classifications and the current ingredient evidence profile.

Food use

Food-use source coverage is present in the current record.

Good fit

The ingredient appears in food-oriented source coverage or allowed-use references, which makes food use easier to support than a context with no domain signal at all.

Fragrance avoidance

Not a strong fit for fragrance avoidance because it carries Fragrance.

Avoid

The ingredient itself is a fragrance-linked signal, so it is better treated as an avoid case when fragrance exposure is the main concern.

Where it has been recorded

How often EPA CPDat has listed Anhydrous trisodium citrate in a product composition. These are source records, not Greenveil catalog products.

Source records

3,562

Named organisations

6

Construction and building materialsSpecialty occupational productsCleaning and safetyLaboratory suppliesCleaning products and household careFood and drug

Typical roles

Acidity regulator, sequestrant, stabilizerPreservativeSurfactantChelating agentpH adjusterThickener
See products using Anhydrous trisodium citrate →

Catalog

Found in these products

Their ingredient lists include Anhydrous trisodium citrate; each product's own rating depends on its whole formula, so it is shown on the product page, not here.

Co-occurrence

Often appears with

Ingredients that frequently appear alongside Anhydrous trisodium citrate in the catalog.