Skip to content
  • beauty
  • cleaning
  • food
  • industrial

Fumaric acid

CAS 9003-16-1 · 40/100 · High conf.

Also registered as 4 other CAS numbers

24661-33-4 · 623158-97-4 · 909873-99-0 · 110-17-8

Fumaric acid chemical structure

Concern score

40/100Moderate concern based on regulatory listings.
High confidence

Fumaric acid in plain language

What it is

Also known as (e)-butenedioic acid · Allomaleic acid · Boletic acid · Ethylenedicarboxylic acid · (2E)-But-2-enedioic acid · (E)-but-2-enedioic acid

Show all 31 names

2-BUTENEDIOIC acid, (e)- · Allomaleic-acid · Boletic-acid · TRANS-1,2-ETHYLENEDICARBOXYLIC acid · (2E)-2-Butenedioic acid · (E)-2-BUTENEDIOIC acid · 2(TRANS)-BUTENEDIOIC acid · 2-(E)-Butenedioic acid · 2-Butenedioic acid (2E)- · 2-Butenedioic acid (E)- · Acide fumarique · Allomalenic acid · Butenedioic acid, (E)- · E-297 · Ins NO.297 · INS-297 · Kyselina fumarova · Lichenic acid · Tumaric acid · Usaf EK-P-583 · fumaric acid (sara iii) · fumaric acid (cercla) · trans-2-Butenedioic acid · trans-Butenedioic acid · Fumaricum acidum

What it does

Used in cosmetics as a pH buffer.

  • Buffering
  • Flavouring agent, acidity regulator
  • Preservative
  • pH adjuster
  • Fragrance
  • Flavouring
Is it a concern?
Moderate concern: no hazard classifications on record. It is listed for cosmetic use in the EU.

Why it's flagged

EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 82 composition records across product categories including Laboratory supplies, Cleaning and safety, Personal care.

The score describes this ingredient's chemical identity — its hazard profile from published classifications and regulatory status — not the safety of any product it appears in.

Regulation

No restrictions found. Fumaric acid appears in these published regulatory listings.

  • In marketed US drugs
  • Inactive ingredient in US drugs

Recorded in these product areas

  • Found in consumer products
  • Beauty
  • Cleaning
  • Industrial
  • USFDAinactive ingredient database7 entries
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Maximum daily exposure: 115 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, CHEWABLE; Maximum daily exposure: 120 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 84 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER, FOR SOLUTION; Potency: 2 mg/1mlSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 240 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SYRUP; Potency: 0.75 mg/5mlSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 120 mgSource →
  • EUEFSAEFSA opinion2 entries
    • Scientific Opinion on the safety and efficacy of fumaric acid as a feed additive for all animal species (EFSA FEEDAP)Source →
    • Scientific Opinion on the safety and efficacy of primary aliphatic saturated or unsaturated alcohols/aldehydes/acids/acetals/esters with a second primary, secondary or tertiary oxygenated functional group including aliphatic lactones (chemical group 9) when used as flavourings for all animal species (EFSA FEEDAP)Source →
  • EUCosIngActiveListed in CosIng inventory for cosmetic use.
    • Listed in CosIng inventory for cosmetic use.Source →
  • GLOBALJECFAEvaluatedJECFA evaluation record.
  • GLOBALJECFANOT SPECIFIED (1989)JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED (1989). Functional class: flavouring agent, acidity regulator.
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED (1989). Functional class: flavouring agent, acidity regulator.Source →
  • USEPAcommercial use observedEPA CPDat observed this chemical in 82 composition records across product categories including Laboratory supplies, Cleaning and safety, Personal care. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Dispersing agent, pH regulating agent, Fragrance.
    • EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 82 composition records across product categories including Laboratory supplies, Cleaning and safety, Personal care. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Dispersing agent, pH regulating agent, Fragrance.Source →
  • USFDAmarketed drug occurrenceFDA NDC lists this ingredient in 44 active drug products and 48 total products.
    • FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 44 active drug products and 48 total products.Source →
  • USFDAlisted in openFDA substanceopenFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.
    • openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.Source →

Expert safety opinions

Independent scientific assessments cited by the records we hold, with the year and link where the record gives one.

  • SCCS

    EU Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety

    No SCCS opinion on file.

  • CIR

    Cosmetic Ingredient Review (US expert panel)

    No CIR safety assessment on file.

  • EFSA

    European Food Safety Authority

    • Scientific Opinion on the safety and efficacy of fumaric acid as a feed additive for all animal species (EFSA FEEDAP)

      2013 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

    • Scientific Opinion on the safety and efficacy of primary aliphatic saturated or unsaturated alcohols/aldehydes/acids/acetals/esters with a second primary, secondary or tertiary oxygenated functional group including aliphatic lactones (chemical group 9) when used as flavourings for all animal species (EFSA FEEDAP)

      2012 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

  • JECFA

    Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives

    • JECFA evaluation record.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED (1989). Functional class: flavouring agent, acidity regulator.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

Evidence & sources

No graded research studies for Fumaric acid yet. This record is compiled from the published data sources below — registries and regulatory listings, not study findings.

10 data sources

Where this comes from

  • CosIng

    regulatory · updated 2026-09-23

    Open →
  • EFSA OpenFoodTox

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • EPA Chemical and Products Database

    exposure · updated November 2014

    Open →
  • EPA DSSTox Identifiers

    chemistry · updated 2025-12-29

    Open →
  • FDA Inactive Ingredient Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-01-09

    Open →
  • FDA National Drug Code Directory

    regulatory · updated 2029-05-29

    Open →
  • FDA GSRS UNII

    registry · updated 2026-02-26

    Open →
  • WHO JECFA Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • openFDA Substance

    registry · updated 2026-05-24

    Open →
  • PubChem Live Enrichment

    chemistry · updated 2026-05-17

    Open →
Reference links (3)
Openfda substance

codexalimentarius.net

Suitability

Context-specific fit derived from published classifications and the current ingredient evidence profile.

Food use

Food-use source coverage is present in the current record.

Good fit

The ingredient appears in food-oriented source coverage or allowed-use references, which makes food use easier to support than a context with no domain signal at all.

Fragrance avoidance

Not a strong fit for fragrance avoidance because it carries Fragrance.

Avoid

The ingredient itself is a fragrance-linked signal, so it is better treated as an avoid case when fragrance exposure is the main concern.

Where it has been recorded

How often EPA CPDat has listed Fumaric acid in a product composition. These are source records, not Greenveil catalog products.

Source records

82

Named organisations

6

Laboratory suppliesCleaning and safetyPersonal careConstruction

Typical roles

BufferingFlavouring agent, acidity regulatorPreservativepH adjusterFragranceFlavouring
See products using Fumaric acid →

Catalog

Found in these products

Their ingredient lists include Fumaric acid; each product's own rating depends on its whole formula, so it is shown on the product page, not here.