Skip to content
  • cleaning
  • food
  • industrial
  • pharma

Microcrystalline cellulose

CAS 9004-34-6 · 40/100 · High conf.

Also registered as 34 other CAS numbers

9012-19-5 · 9037-50-7 · 9076-30-6 · 12656-52-9 · 39394-43-9 · 51395-76-7 · 58968-67-5 · 61991-21-7 · 61991-22-8 · 67016-75-5 · 67016-76-6 · 68073-05-2 · 70225-79-5 · 74623-16-8 · 75398-83-3 · 77907-70-1 · 84503-75-3 · 89468-66-6 · 99331-82-5 · 137261-76-8 · 152231-69-1 · 189398-86-5 · 209533-95-9 · 231290-83-8 · 324745-49-5 · 358787-62-9 · 906542-14-1 · 1161712-52-2 · 1374408-52-2 · 1621420-37-8 · 1873279-80-1 · 2095812-59-0 · 2243384-02-1 · 2243384-04-3

Concern score

40/100Moderate concern based on regulatory listings.
High confidence

Microcrystalline cellulose in plain language

What it is

Also known as Cellulose · Powdered cellulose · Cellulose gel · Aqueous cellulose microcrystalline · Cellulose microcrystalline · .alpha.-cellulose

Show all 41 names

AMYLOSE and AMYLOPECTIN · Paper · Cellulose alpha · Cellulose powder · Microporous cellulose · Crystalline cellulose · Dispersible cellulose · E460 · Mcc · Microcrystalline cellulose (E460) · Alpha cellulose · Avicel ph · Accuwipe · Ahlstrom 939 · Alicell LV · Alistaple 1168 · Alpha Cel BH 100 · Alpha Cel BH 200 · Ceolus ph · Cellulose Fiber · E-460(II) · Ins NO.460(II) · INS-460(II) · Pharmacel · Radiata Pine (FSC certified) · Rayon · Recycled Newspaper · Regenerated Cellulose · Sigmacell · Tissue Separator (Cellulose) · Wood Fiber · Wood Flour · alpha-cellulose filler · cellulose (paper fiber) · α-Cellulose

What it does

Used in food as an anticaking agent, emulsifier, stabilizer, a texturizer, thickener, anticaking agent, emulsifier and a thickener.

  • Anticaking agent, emulsifier, stabilizer
  • Texturizer, thickener, anticaking agent, emulsifier
  • Thickener
  • Emulsifier
  • Surfactant
  • Stabiliser
Is it a concern?
Moderate concern: no hazard classifications on record.

Why it's flagged

EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 1631 composition records across product categories including Cleaning and safety, Industrial products, Construction and building materials.

The score describes this ingredient's chemical identity — its hazard profile from published classifications and regulatory status — not the safety of any product it appears in.

Regulation

No restrictions found. Microcrystalline cellulose appears in these published regulatory listings.

  • In marketed US drugs
  • Inactive ingredient in US drugs

Recorded in these product areas

  • Found in consumer products
  • Cleaning
  • Industrial
  • USFDAinactive ingredient database43 entries — 7 administration routes
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE, DELAYED RELEASE; Potency: 789.6 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 278 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: PELLET; Maximum daily exposure: 1140 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER, FOR SOLUTION; Maximum daily exposure: 690 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 4441 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 1600 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 1120 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Maximum daily exposure: 5117 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, CHEWABLE; Maximum daily exposure: 1725 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, CHEWABLE, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 144 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, COATED; Maximum daily exposure: 920 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 2210 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, DELAYED RELEASE PARTICLES; Maximum daily exposure: 580 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 5119 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FILM COATED; Maximum daily exposure: 992 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FILM COATED, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 615 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 20100 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, ORALLY DISINTEGRATING; Maximum daily exposure: 1800 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, ORALLY DISINTEGRATING, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 1576 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TROCHE; Maximum daily exposure: 300 mgSource →
    • Route: SUBLINGUAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Potency: 43.2 mgSource →
    • Route: BUCCAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Potency: 4.5 mgSource →
    • Route: DENTAL; Dosage form: PASTE, DENTIFRICE; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: EXTRACORPOREAL; Dosage form: DISC; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE; Maximum daily exposure: 2430 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: LIQUID; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 1600 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Maximum daily exposure: 1582 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, CHEWABLE; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, COATED; Potency: 40.2 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, DELAYED RELEASE; Potency: 16 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 156 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FILM COATED; Maximum daily exposure: 392 mgSource →
    • Route: SUBLINGUAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Potency: 4.5 mgSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: DISC; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: DROPS; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: BUCCAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Maximum daily exposure: 18 mgSource →
    • Route: INTRAVITREAL; Dosage form: IMPLANT; Potency: 1.66 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE; Maximum daily exposure: 2169 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, COATED PELLETS; Maximum daily exposure: 456 mgSource →
    • + 3 more entries not shown
  • EUEFSAEFSA opinion3 entries
    • Safety and efficacy of microcrystalline cellulose for all animal species (EFSA FEEDAP)Source →
    • Re-evaluation of celluloses E 460(i), E 460(ii), E 461, E 462, E 463, E 464, E 465, E 466, E 468 and E 469 as food additives (EFSA ANS)Source →
    • Safety of the proposed amendment of the specifications for microcrystalline cellulose (E 460(i)) as a food additive (EFSA ANS)Source →
  • GLOBALJECFANOT SPECIFIED3 entries
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: texturizer, thickener, anticaking agent, emulsifier.Source →
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: thickener.Source →
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: anticaking agent, emulsifier, stabilizer.Source →
  • USFDAmarketed drug occurrence2 entries
    • FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 1 active drug products and 1 total products.Source →
    • FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 1 active drug products and 4 total products.Source →
  • USFDAlisted in openFDA substance2 entries
    • openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as polymer.Source →
    • openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as concept.Source →
  • GLOBALJECFAEvaluatedJECFA evaluation record.
  • USEPAcommercial use observedEPA CPDat observed this chemical in 1631 composition records across product categories including Cleaning and safety, Industrial products, Construction and building materials. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Abrasive, Absorbent, Emulsifier.
    • EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 1631 composition records across product categories including Cleaning and safety, Industrial products, Construction and building materials. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Abrasive, Absorbent, Emulsifier.Source →

Expert safety opinions

Independent scientific assessments cited by the records we hold, with the year and link where the record gives one.

  • JECFA

    Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: texturizer, thickener, anticaking agent, emulsifier.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

    • JECFA evaluation record.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: thickener.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: anticaking agent, emulsifier, stabilizer.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

  • EFSA

    European Food Safety Authority

    • Safety and efficacy of microcrystalline cellulose for all animal species (EFSA FEEDAP)

      2020 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

    • Re-evaluation of celluloses E 460(i), E 460(ii), E 461, E 462, E 463, E 464, E 465, E 466, E 468 and E 469 as food additives (EFSA ANS)

      2018 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

    • Safety of the proposed amendment of the specifications for microcrystalline cellulose (E 460(i)) as a food additive (EFSA ANS)

      2017 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

Evidence & sources

No graded research studies for Microcrystalline cellulose yet. This record is compiled from the published data sources below — registries and regulatory listings, not study findings.

8 data sources

Where this comes from

  • EFSA OpenFoodTox

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • EPA Chemical and Products Database

    exposure · updated september 25, 2015

    Open →
  • EPA DSSTox Identifiers

    chemistry · updated 2025-12-29

    Open →
  • FDA Inactive Ingredient Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-01-09

    Open →
  • FDA National Drug Code Directory

    regulatory · updated 2026-12-31

    Open →
  • FDA GSRS UNII

    registry · updated 2026-02-26

    Open →
  • WHO JECFA Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • openFDA Substance

    registry · updated 2026-05-24

    Open →
Reference links (2)
Openfda substance

cool.conservation-us.org

Openfda substance

digital.findpharma.com

Suitability

Context-specific fit derived from published classifications and the current ingredient evidence profile.

Food use

Food-use source coverage is present in the current record.

Good fit

The ingredient appears in food-oriented source coverage or allowed-use references, which makes food use easier to support than a context with no domain signal at all.

Fragrance avoidance

No fragrance-linked caution surfaced in the current profile.

Good fit

This ingredient does not currently read as a fragrance-linked driver in the published evidence and hazard profile.

Where it has been recorded

How often EPA CPDat has listed Microcrystalline cellulose in a product composition. These are source records, not Greenveil catalog products.

Source records

1,631

Named organisations

6

Cleaning and safetyIndustrial productsConstruction and building materialsFurniture and furnishingsRaw materialsCons. electronics, mech. appliances, and machinery

Typical roles

Anticaking agent, emulsifier, stabilizerTexturizer, thickener, anticaking agent, emulsifierThickenerEmulsifierSurfactantStabiliser
See products using Microcrystalline cellulose →

Catalog

Found in these products

Their ingredient lists include Microcrystalline cellulose; each product's own rating depends on its whole formula, so it is shown on the product page, not here.

Co-occurrence

Often appears with

Ingredients that frequently appear alongside Microcrystalline cellulose in the catalog.