- beauty
- cleaning
- food
- industrial
Urea
CAS 3138-51-0 · 40/100 · High conf.
Also registered as 14 other CAS numbers
4744-36-9 · 37955-36-5 · 30535-50-3 · 118548-06-4 · 860639-56-1 · 923953-70-2 · 1202865-46-0 · 1228376-38-2 · 1262769-89-0 · 1637232-71-3 · 2060607-07-8 · 2417243-36-6 · 2694035-40-8 · 57-13-6
Concern score
Urea in plain language
Also known as Azobisformamide · Carbamide · Azodicarboxylic acid-diamide · Alphadrate · Amide of carbonic acid · Aqua Care
Show all 38 names
Aquacare · Aquadrate · Basodexan · Carbaderm · Carbamide resin · Carbamimidic acid · Carbonyl diamide · Carbonyldiamide · Carbonyldiamine · E-927A · Elaqua XX · Harnstoff · Ins NO.927A · INS-927A · Keratinamin · Mocovina · Nutraplus · Pastaron · Ultra Mide · Urea Scavenger · Ureaphil · Ureophil · Urepearl · Urevert · Varioform ii · urea (sulfur coated) · urea (urethane preolymer) · ureum · Alphaderm component urea · Calmurid hc component urea · Carmol hc component urea · U-cort component urea
Used in cosmetics as a humectant, a skin-conditioning agent and an antistatic agent.
- Humectant
- Skin conditioning
- Antistatic
- Buffering
- Texturizer, thickener, yeast food, chewing gum base compound
- pH adjuster
- Moderate concern: no hazard classifications on record. It is listed for cosmetic use in the EU.
Why it's flagged
EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 1595 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Furniture and furnishings, Tools.
The score describes this ingredient's chemical identity — its hazard profile from published classifications and regulatory status — not the safety of any product it appears in.
Regulation
No restrictions found. Urea appears in these published regulatory listings.
- In marketed US drugs
- Inactive ingredient in US drugs
- Found in consumer products
- Beauty
- Cleaning
- Food
- Industrial
USFDAinactive ingredient database7 entries — 3 administration routes
- Route: VAGINAL; Dosage form: CREAM; Potency: 0.64 %w/wSource →
- Route: VAGINAL; Dosage form: DOUCHE; Potency: 8 %w/wSource →
- Route: VAGINAL; Dosage form: INSERT; Maximum daily exposure: 50 mgSource →
- Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, EFFERVESCENT; Potency: 60 mgSource →
- Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, COATED; Potency: 0.02 mgSource →
- Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: SYSTEM; Maximum daily exposure: 840 mgSource →
- Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE; Potency: 0.01 mgSource →
EUCosIngActiveListed in CosIng inventory for cosmetic use.
- Listed in CosIng inventory for cosmetic use.Source →
EUEFSAEFSA opinionScientific Opinion on the safety and efficacy of Urea for ruminants (EFSA FEEDAP)
- Scientific Opinion on the safety and efficacy of Urea for ruminants (EFSA FEEDAP)Source →
EUEFSAConclusion on Pesticides Peer ReviewConclusion on the peer review of the pesticide risk assessment of the active substance urea (EFSA)
- Conclusion on the peer review of the pesticide risk assessment of the active substance urea (EFSA)Source →
GLOBALJECFAEvaluatedJECFA evaluation record.
- JECFA evaluation record.Source →
GLOBALJECFANOT SPECIFIEDJECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: texturizer, thickener, yeast food, chewing gum base compound.
- JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: texturizer, thickener, yeast food, chewing gum base compound.Source →
USEPAcommercial use observedEPA CPDat observed this chemical in 1595 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Furniture and furnishings, Tools. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including pH regulating agent, Humectant, Anti-static agent.
- EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 1595 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Furniture and furnishings, Tools. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including pH regulating agent, Humectant, Anti-static agent.Source →
USFDAmarketed drug occurrenceFDA NDC lists this ingredient in 40 active drug products and 40 total products.
- FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 40 active drug products and 40 total products.Source →
USFDAlisted in openFDA substanceopenFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.
- openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.Source →
Expert safety opinions
Independent scientific assessments cited by the records we hold, with the year and link where the record gives one.
SCCS
EU Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety
No SCCS opinion on file.
CIR
Cosmetic Ingredient Review (US expert panel)
No CIR safety assessment on file.
EFSA
European Food Safety Authority
Scientific Opinion on the safety and efficacy of Urea for ruminants (EFSA FEEDAP)
2012 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →
Conclusion on the peer review of the pesticide risk assessment of the active substance urea (EFSA)
2012 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →
JECFA
Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives
JECFA evaluation record.
Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →
JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: texturizer, thickener, yeast food, chewing gum base compound.
Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →
Evidence & sources
No graded research studies for Urea yet. This record is compiled from the published data sources below — registries and regulatory listings, not study findings.
Where this comes from
- Open →
CosIng
regulatory · updated 2026-09-23
- Open →
EFSA OpenFoodTox
regulatory · updated 2026-10-04
- Open →
EPA Chemical and Products Database
exposure · updated october 25, 2016
- Open →
EPA DSSTox Identifiers
chemistry · updated 2025-12-29
- Open →
FDA Inactive Ingredient Database
regulatory · updated 2026-01-09
- Open →
FDA National Drug Code Directory
regulatory · updated 2027-12-31
- Open →
FDA GSRS UNII
registry · updated 2026-02-26
- Open →
WHO JECFA Database
regulatory · updated 2026-10-04
- Open →
openFDA Substance
registry · updated 2026-05-24
- Open →
PubChem Live Enrichment
chemistry · updated 2026-05-17
Reference links (1)
Suitability
Context-specific fit derived from published classifications and the current ingredient evidence profile.
Food use
Food-use source coverage is present in the current record.
The ingredient appears in food-oriented source coverage or allowed-use references, which makes food use easier to support than a context with no domain signal at all.
Fragrance avoidance
No fragrance-linked caution surfaced in the current profile.
This ingredient does not currently read as a fragrance-linked driver in the published evidence and hazard profile.
Where it has been recorded
How often EPA CPDat has listed Urea in a product composition. These are source records, not Greenveil catalog products.
Source records
1,595
Named organisations
6
Typical roles
Found in these products
Their ingredient lists include Urea; each product's own rating depends on its whole formula, so it is shown on the product page, not here.
- Cream pure urea 10%Deliplus · Body
- TopicremTopicrem
- Shampooing crème nutrition miel de provence et karité bioLe Petit Marseillais · Hair
- Shampooing crème nutrition miel de Provence et karité bioLe Petit Marseillais · Hair
- The Ordinary Glycolic Acid 7% Toning Solution (Solução tonificante de ácido glicólico 7%)The Ordinary · Esfoliante
- Exfoliating socks
- Intensiv Handcreme UreaIsana, Rossmann · Body
- OGX Brazilian Keratin Smooth & Sleek ShampooOGX · Hair
- Cien lightweight body lotionCien
- Eucerin, Roughness Relief Lotion, Fragrance FreeEucerin · Non Food Products
- Advanced Repair Hand CreamEucerin · Non Food Products
- eucerin
- baume riche réparateur et soinnivea · Open Beauty Facts
- Medizinisches Zahncreme-KonzentratAjona · Health Beauty
- CremaLactovit · Non Food Products
- Dishwashing Detergent sensitive handsL'arbre vert · Dishwashing Detergent
- SimpleUnilever,Simple
- anti-manchasDeliplus
- Eucerin
- Crème hydratante pieds secsMercurochrome · Body
- Fußcreme UreaDM Balea
- Restoring ritual body lotionUnilever, Dove · Body
- Gel douche surgrasHygiene
- urea crema de manosinstituto español