Skip to content
  • beauty
  • cleaning
  • food
  • industrial

Amylase

CAS 8049-91-0 · 40/100 · High conf.

Also registered as 3 other CAS numbers

9000-93-5 · 9014-71-5 · 9000-92-4

Concern score

40/100Moderate concern based on regulatory listings.
High confidence

Amylase in plain language

What it is

Also known as AMYLOGLUCOSIDASE from ASPERGILLUS NIGER, VAR. · CARBOHYDRASE from ASPERGILLUS AWAMORI, VAR. · CARBOHYDRASE from ASPERGILLUS NIGER, VAR. · CARBOHYDRASE from ASPERGILLUS ORYZAE, VAR. · CARBOHYDRASE from RHIZOPUS ORYZAE, VAR. · Diastase

Show all 18 names

Malt carbohydrase · alpha-AMYLASE and GLUCOAMYLASE from ASPERGILLUS ORYZAE, VAR. · Amylase AD.1 · Amylogal · Amylolytic enzymes · Amylopol P · Amylosa enzyme · Amzyme TX 8 · Aquasim 240L · amilasa · diastase of malt · natalase

What it does

Used in cosmetics as a skin-conditioning agent.

  • Skin conditioning
  • Enzyme preparation
  • Conditioner
  • Stabiliser
  • Cleaning agent
Is it a concern?
Moderate concern: no hazard classifications on record. It is listed for cosmetic use in the EU.

Why it's flagged

EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 175 composition records across product categories including Laboratory supplies, Cleaning and safety, Cleaning products and household care.

The score describes this ingredient's chemical identity — its hazard profile from published classifications and regulatory status — not the safety of any product it appears in.

Regulation

No restrictions found. Amylase appears in these published regulatory listings.

Recorded in these product areas

  • Found in consumer products
  • Beauty
  • Cleaning
  • Industrial
  • GLOBALJECFAEvaluated2 entries
    • JECFA evaluation record.Source →
    • JECFA evaluation record. Functional class: enzyme preparation.Source →
  • EUCosIngActiveAmylase
  • GLOBALJECFANOT SPECIFIEDJECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: enzyme preparation.
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: enzyme preparation.Source →
  • GLOBALJECFANOT LIMITEDJECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT LIMITED. Functional class: enzyme preparation.
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT LIMITED. Functional class: enzyme preparation.Source →
  • GLOBALJECFADECISION POSTPONEDJECFA evaluation lists ADI DECISION POSTPONED. Functional class: enzyme preparation.
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI DECISION POSTPONED. Functional class: enzyme preparation.Source →
  • USEPAcommercial use observedEPA CPDat observed this chemical in 175 composition records across product categories including Laboratory supplies, Cleaning and safety, Cleaning products and household care. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Cleaning agent, Softener and conditioner, MULTIPLE SOIL/STAIN REMOVERS.
    • EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 175 composition records across product categories including Laboratory supplies, Cleaning and safety, Cleaning products and household care. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Cleaning agent, Softener and conditioner, MULTIPLE SOIL/STAIN REMOVERS.Source →

Expert safety opinions

Independent scientific assessments cited by the records we hold, with the year and link where the record gives one.

  • SCCS

    EU Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety

    No SCCS opinion on file.

  • CIR

    Cosmetic Ingredient Review (US expert panel)

    No CIR safety assessment on file.

  • JECFA

    Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives

    • JECFA evaluation record.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: enzyme preparation.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT LIMITED. Functional class: enzyme preparation.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

    • JECFA evaluation record. Functional class: enzyme preparation.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI DECISION POSTPONED. Functional class: enzyme preparation.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

Evidence & sources

No graded research studies for Amylase yet. This record is compiled from the published data sources below — registries and regulatory listings, not study findings.

4 data sources

Where this comes from

  • CosIng

    regulatory · updated 2026-09-23

    Open →
  • EPA Chemical and Products Database

    exposure · updated 8/17/19

    Open →
  • EPA DSSTox Identifiers

    chemistry · updated 2025-12-29

    Open →
  • WHO JECFA Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →

Allergen profile

Canonical allergen markers detected on this ingredient. Each row is derived from the ingredient’s name or synonyms matching a known allergen class — useful when scanning a label for a specific allergy context.

  • GlutenContains · Oral (ingested)

    Source: chemindex_name_match

Suitability

Context-specific fit derived from published classifications and the current ingredient evidence profile.

Food use

Food-use source coverage is present in the current record.

Good fit

The ingredient appears in food-oriented source coverage or allowed-use references, which makes food use easier to support than a context with no domain signal at all.

Fragrance avoidance

No fragrance-linked caution surfaced in the current profile.

Good fit

This ingredient does not currently read as a fragrance-linked driver in the published evidence and hazard profile.

Where it has been recorded

How often EPA CPDat has listed Amylase in a product composition. These are source records, not Greenveil catalog products.

Source records

175

Named organisations

6

Laboratory suppliesCleaning and safetyCleaning products and household carePersonal careRaw materials

Typical roles

Skin conditioningEnzyme preparationConditionerStabiliserCleaning agent
See products using Amylase →

Catalog

Found in these products

Their ingredient lists include Amylase; each product's own rating depends on its whole formula, so it is shown on the product page, not here.