Skip to content
  • beauty
  • cleaning
  • food
  • industrial

Sodium gluconate

CAS 527-07-1 · 40/100 · High conf.

Also registered as 5 other CAS numbers

14906-97-9 · 15537-84-5 · 22808-65-7 · 24551-74-4 · 252255-37-1

Sodium gluconate chemical structure

Concern score

40/100Moderate concern based on regulatory listings.
High confidence

Sodium gluconate in plain language

What it is

Also known as Gluconate sodium · Gluconic acid sodium salt · Sodium D-gluconate · Monosodium salt d-gluconic acid · D-gluconic acid, sodium salt (1:1) · E-576

Show all 25 names

E576 · Gluconic acid, monosodium salt, d- · Helshas a · Monosodium gluconate · Natrum gluconicum · sodium (2R,3S,4R,5R)-2,3,4,5,6-pentahydroxyhexanoate · BVD Addicrete · Clewat GL · monosodium salt D-Glulonic acid · Disparlight DV · Glonsen · Gluconate de sodium · Gluconato di sodio · Ins NO.576 · INS-576 · Pasexon 100T · Sodium gluconate (USP) · sodium gluconate - 55 mg/ml · sodium gluconate 110 mg/ml

What it does

Used in food as a yeast food, sequestrant.

  • Yeast food, sequestrant
  • Colourant
  • Chelating agent
  • pH adjuster
  • Flavouring
  • Conditioner
Is it a concern?
Moderate concern: no hazard classifications on record.

Why it's flagged

EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 635 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Cleaning products and household care, Industrial products.

The score describes this ingredient's chemical identity — its hazard profile from published classifications and regulatory status — not the safety of any product it appears in.

Regulation

No restrictions found. Sodium gluconate appears in these published regulatory listings.

  • In marketed US drugs
  • Inactive ingredient in US drugs

Recorded in these product areas

  • Found in consumer products
  • Beauty
  • Cleaning
  • Pharma
  • Industrial
  • USFDAinactive ingredient database3 entries — 2 administration routes
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SOLUTION; Potency: 2.5 mg/1mlSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Potency: 59 mgSource →
    • Route: INTRAVENOUS; Dosage form: INJECTION, POWDER, LYOPHILIZED, FOR SOLUTION; Potency: 3 mgSource →
  • GLOBALJECFANOT SPECIFIEDJECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: yeast food, sequestrant.
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: yeast food, sequestrant.Source →
  • USEPAcommercial use observedEPA CPDat observed this chemical in 635 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Cleaning products and household care, Industrial products. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Chelating agent, Softener and conditioner, Cleaning agent.
    • EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 635 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Cleaning products and household care, Industrial products. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Chelating agent, Softener and conditioner, Cleaning agent.Source →
  • USFDAmarketed drug occurrenceFDA NDC lists this ingredient in 13 active drug products and 14 total products.
    • FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 13 active drug products and 14 total products.Source →
  • USFDAlisted in openFDA substanceopenFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.
    • openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.Source →

Expert safety opinions

Independent scientific assessments cited by the records we hold, with the year and link where the record gives one.

  • JECFA

    Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: yeast food, sequestrant.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

  • EFSA

    European Food Safety Authority

    No EFSA opinion on file.

Evidence & sources

No graded research studies for Sodium gluconate yet. This record is compiled from the published data sources below — registries and regulatory listings, not study findings.

8 data sources

Where this comes from

  • EPA Chemical and Products Database

    exposure · updated march 6, 2017

    Open →
  • EPA DSSTox Identifiers

    chemistry · updated 2025-12-29

    Open →
  • FDA Inactive Ingredient Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-01-09

    Open →
  • FDA National Drug Code Directory

    regulatory · updated 2027-03-16

    Open →
  • FDA GSRS UNII

    registry · updated 2026-02-26

    Open →
  • WHO JECFA Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • openFDA Substance

    registry · updated 2026-05-24

    Open →
  • PubChem Live Enrichment

    chemistry · updated 2026-05-17

    Open →
Reference links (1)
Openfda substance

codexalimentarius.net

Suitability

Context-specific fit derived from published classifications and the current ingredient evidence profile.

Food use

Food-use source coverage is present in the current record.

Good fit

The ingredient appears in food-oriented source coverage or allowed-use references, which makes food use easier to support than a context with no domain signal at all.

Fragrance avoidance

No fragrance-linked caution surfaced in the current profile.

Good fit

This ingredient does not currently read as a fragrance-linked driver in the published evidence and hazard profile.

Where it has been recorded

How often EPA CPDat has listed Sodium gluconate in a product composition. These are source records, not Greenveil catalog products.

Source records

635

Named organisations

6

Construction and building materialsCleaning products and household careIndustrial productsLaboratory suppliesRaw materialsPersonal care

Typical roles

Yeast food, sequestrantColourantChelating agentpH adjusterFlavouringConditioner
See products using Sodium gluconate →

Catalog

Found in these products

Their ingredient lists include Sodium gluconate; each product's own rating depends on its whole formula, so it is shown on the product page, not here.

Co-occurrence

Often appears with

Ingredients that frequently appear alongside Sodium gluconate in the catalog.