Skip to content
  • beauty
  • cleaning
  • food
  • industrial

Hypromellose 2910 (5 mpa.s)

CAS 8063-82-9 · 40/100 · High conf.

Also registered as 21 other CAS numbers

11106-33-5 · 12673-53-9 · 37341-76-7 · 39363-71-8 · 59029-31-1 · 62683-26-5 · 65607-39-8 · 68073-10-9 · 71373-07-4 · 98112-80-2 · 125053-98-7 · 125857-43-4 · 137397-89-8 · 137397-90-1 · 137397-91-2 · 171544-38-0 · 173080-61-0 · 194615-25-3 · 876407-53-3 · 1262284-64-9 · 9004-65-3

Concern score

40/100Moderate concern based on regulatory listings.
High confidence

Hypromellose 2910 (5 mpa.s) in plain language

What it is

On cosmetic ingredient lists it appears as “Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose”.

Also known as Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose · Hypromellose · Hypromellose 2208 (15000 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2208 (60000 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2910 (15 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2910 (15000 mpa.s)

Show all 172 names

Hypromellose 2910 (6 mpa.s) · Hypromelloses · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 100 · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2208 · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2906 · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2910 · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 4000 · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 603 · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 606 · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose E5 · Hypromellose 2208 (80000-120000 cps) · Pharmacoat 606 · Hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose · Hypromellose 2208 (100 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2208 (100000 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2208 (3 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2208 (4 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2208 (4000 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2906 (4 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2906 (4000 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2906 (50 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2910 (3 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2910 (4000 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2910 (50 mpa.s) · Unspecified hypromellose · Hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose · Hypromellose 2208 (3 mPa·s) · Benecel hpmc E15 · Benecel hpmc E6 · Cellulose, 2-HYDROXYPROPYL methyl ether · Cellulose hydroxypropyl methyl ether · Hpmc 2208 (100 cps) · Hpmc 2208 (100000 cps) · Hpmc 2208 (15000 cps) · Hpmc 2208 (4 cps) · Hpmc 2906 (4 cps) · Hpmc 2906 (4000 cps) · Hpmc 2906 (50 cps) · Hpmc 2910 (15 cps) · Hpmc 2910 (15000 cps) · Hpmc 2910 (4000 cps) · Hpmc 2910 (50 cps) · Hpmc 603 · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2208 (100 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2208 (100000 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2208 (11250-21000 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2208 (15000 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2208 (3 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2208 (4 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2208 (50000-75000 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2208 (80000-120000 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2906 (4000 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2906 (50 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2910 (15 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2910 (15000 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2910 (4000 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2910 (50 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 2910 (6 cps) · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 3CP · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 50CP · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose 6CP · Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose K100M · Hydroxypropyl methylcelluloses · Hydroxypropylmethylcellulose · Hydroxypropylmethylcellulose 2208, 100 cps · Hypermellose 2208 (11250 - 21000 cps) · Hypromellose 2208 (100 cps) · Hypromellose 2208 (100000 cps) · Hypromellose 2208 (11250 - 21000 cps) · Hypromellose 2208 (15000 cps) · Hypromellose 2208 (3 cps) · Hypromellose 2208 (4000 cps) · Hypromellose 2208 (50000-75000 cps) · Hypromellose 2906 (4 cps) · Hypromellose 2906 (4000 cps) · Hypromellose 2906 (50 cps) · Hypromellose 2910 (15 cps) · Hypromellose 2910 (15000 cps) · Hypromellose 2910 (3 cps) · Hypromellose 2910 (4.5 mpa.s) · Hypromellose 2910 (4000 cps) · Hypromellose 2910 (5 cps) · Hypromellose 2910 (50 cps) · Hypromellose 2910 (6 cps) · Hypromellose 3CP · Hypromellose 4000 · Hypromellose 50CP · Hypromellose 603 · Hypromellose 606 · Hypromellose 6CP · Hypromellose E15 · Hypromellose E3 · Hypromellose E5 · Hypromellose E50 · Hypromellose E6 · Hypromellose K100M · Methocel 40-202 · Methocel E5 premium · Methocel K-15M premium · 2-Hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose · 2-Hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose ether · Accel R 100 · Benecel hpmc E3 · Benecel hpmc E4M · Benecel hpmc E5 · Benecel hpmc E50 · Benecel hpmc F4 · Benecel hpmc K100 · Benecel hpmc K100M · Benecel hpmc K15M · Benecel hpmc K4M · Benecel MP843 · Benecel MP874 · Benecel MP 3 · Benecel MP 363C · Benecel MP 824 · Benecel MP 843 · Demacol hk 15M · Dow methocel E5 · Gonisol · +46 more

What it does

Used in cosmetics as a cleansing agent, an antistatic agent and a binder.

  • Cleansing
  • Antistatic
  • Binding
  • Emulsion stabilising
  • Film forming
  • Viscosity controlling
Is it a concern?
Moderate concern: no hazard classifications on record. It is listed for cosmetic use in the EU.

Why it's flagged

EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 1000 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Specialty occupational products, Home maintenance.

The score describes this ingredient's chemical identity — its hazard profile from published classifications and regulatory status — not the safety of any product it appears in.

Regulation

No restrictions found. Hypromellose 2910 (5 mpa.s) appears in these published regulatory listings.

  • In marketed US drugs
  • Inactive ingredient in US drugs

Recorded in these product areas

  • Found in consumer products
  • Beauty
  • Cleaning
  • Pharma
  • Food
  • Industrial
  • USFDAinactive ingredient database173 entries — 9 administration routes
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, COATED, EXTENDED RELEASE; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 105 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, EXTENDED RELEASE; Potency: 119.7 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE; Maximum daily exposure: 45 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE, FOR SUSPENSION; Potency: 1.7 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 305 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SYRUP; Maximum daily exposure: 250 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Maximum daily exposure: 1127 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, CHEWABLE; Potency: 11.8 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, COATED; Maximum daily exposure: 58 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 79 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 1472 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FILM COATED; Maximum daily exposure: 582 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FILM COATED, EXTENDED RELEASE; Potency: 221 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, ORALLY DISINTEGRATING; Maximum daily exposure: 41 mgSource →
    • Route: RECTAL; Dosage form: GEL; Maximum daily exposure: 348 mgSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: CREAM; Potency: 0.1 %w/wSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: JELLY; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: LOTION; Potency: 0.1 %w/wSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: SHAMPOO; Potency: 3 %w/wSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: SYSTEM; Maximum daily exposure: 54 mgSource →
    • Route: VAGINAL; Dosage form: INSERT; Potency: 54.21 mgSource →
    • Route: BUCCAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Maximum daily exposure: 21 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE; Maximum daily exposure: 5 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 630 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 79 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 250 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 50 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SYRUP; Maximum daily exposure: 100 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Maximum daily exposure: 942 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 360 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 1700 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FILM COATED, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 360 mgSource →
    • Route: VAGINAL; Dosage form: INSERT; Maximum daily exposure: 16 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE; Maximum daily exposure: 161 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 900 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Maximum daily exposure: 1296 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 2147 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FILM COATED, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 1320 mgSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: LOTION; Maximum daily exposure: 7 mgSource →
    • + 133 more entries not shown
  • EUEFSAEFSA opinion3 entries
    • Safety and efficacy of hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose for all animal species (EFSA FEEDAP)Source →
    • Re-evaluation of celluloses E 460(i), E 460(ii), E 461, E 462, E 463, E 464, E 465, E 466, E 468 and E 469 as food additives (EFSA ANS)Source →
    • Safety of a change in specifications for the food additive hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose (E 464) (EFSA ANS)Source →
  • USFDAmarketed drug occurrence3 entries
    • FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 1 active drug products and 1 total products.Source →
    • FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 3 active drug products and 5 total products.Source →
    • FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 12 active drug products and 12 total products.Source →
  • EUCosIngActiveCellulose, 2-hydroxypropyl methyl ether
  • GLOBALJECFANOT SPECIFIEDJECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: thickener, emulsifier, stabilizer.
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: thickener, emulsifier, stabilizer.Source →
  • USEPAcommercial use observedEPA CPDat observed this chemical in 1000 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Specialty occupational products, Home maintenance. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Viscosity modifier, Binder, Surfactant (surface active agent).
    • EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 1000 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Specialty occupational products, Home maintenance. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Viscosity modifier, Binder, Surfactant (surface active agent).Source →
  • USFDAlisted in openFDA substanceopenFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as polymer.
    • openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as polymer.Source →

Expert safety opinions

Independent scientific assessments cited by the records we hold, with the year and link where the record gives one.

  • SCCS

    EU Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety

    No SCCS opinion on file.

  • CIR

    Cosmetic Ingredient Review (US expert panel)

    No CIR safety assessment on file.

  • EFSA

    European Food Safety Authority

    • Safety and efficacy of hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose for all animal species (EFSA FEEDAP)

      2020 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

    • Re-evaluation of celluloses E 460(i), E 460(ii), E 461, E 462, E 463, E 464, E 465, E 466, E 468 and E 469 as food additives (EFSA ANS)

      2018 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

    • Safety of a change in specifications for the food additive hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose (E 464) (EFSA ANS)

      2015 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

  • JECFA

    Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: thickener, emulsifier, stabilizer.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

Evidence & sources

No graded research studies for Hypromellose 2910 (5 mpa.s) yet. This record is compiled from the published data sources below — registries and regulatory listings, not study findings.

9 data sources

Where this comes from

  • CosIng

    regulatory · updated 2026-09-23

    Open →
  • EFSA OpenFoodTox

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • EPA Chemical and Products Database

    exposure · updated september 28, 2015

    Open →
  • EPA DSSTox Identifiers

    chemistry · updated 2025-12-29

    Open →
  • FDA Inactive Ingredient Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-01-09

    Open →
  • FDA National Drug Code Directory

    regulatory · updated 2026-12-31

    Open →
  • FDA GSRS UNII

    registry · updated 2026-02-26

    Open →
  • WHO JECFA Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • openFDA Substance

    registry · updated 2026-05-24

    Open →
Reference links (11)
Openfda substance

elementoorganika.ru

Openfda substance

in-cosmetics.com

Openfda substance

nopr.niscair.res.in

Suitability

Context-specific fit derived from published classifications and the current ingredient evidence profile.

Food use

Food-use source coverage is present in the current record.

Good fit

The ingredient appears in food-oriented source coverage or allowed-use references, which makes food use easier to support than a context with no domain signal at all.

Fragrance avoidance

No fragrance-linked caution surfaced in the current profile.

Good fit

This ingredient does not currently read as a fragrance-linked driver in the published evidence and hazard profile.

Where it has been recorded

How often EPA CPDat has listed Hypromellose 2910 (5 mpa.s) in a product composition. These are source records, not Greenveil catalog products.

Source records

1,000

Named organisations

6

Construction and building materialsSpecialty occupational productsHome maintenanceBatteriesPersonal careCleaning products and household care

Typical roles

CleansingAntistaticBindingEmulsion stabilisingFilm formingViscosity controlling
See products using Hypromellose 2910 (5 mpa.s) →

Catalog

Found in these products

Cosmetic and personal-care products that list Hypromellose 2910 (5 mpa.s) are shown first. Their ingredient lists include Hypromellose 2910 (5 mpa.s); each product's own rating depends on its whole formula, so it is shown on the product page, not here.