- food
- industrial
Inosinic acid
CAS 131-99-7 · 40/100 · High conf.
Also registered as 6 other CAS numbers
485-83-6 · 138240-72-9 · 736074-82-1 · 801187-33-7 · 1080065-96-8 · 1294552-14-9
Concern score
Inosinic acid in plain language
Also known as Cytosine inosinate · 5'-INOSINIC acid · 5'-Inosinic acid · 5'-IMP · Hypoxanthine RIBOSIDE-5-PHOSPHORIC acid · Imp
Show all 18 names
Inosine phosphate · INOSINE-5'-MONOPHOSPHORIC acid · Inosinic acid, 5'- · 2'-inosine-5'-monophosphate · 5'-inosinate · E-630 · Ins NO.630 · INS-630 · Inosine 5'-(dihydrogen phosphate) · Inosine 5'-monophosphate · hypoxanthosine 5'-monophosphate · inosine monophosphate
Used in food as a flavour enhancer.
- Flavour enhancer
- Moderate concern: no hazard classifications on record.
Why it's flagged
EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 0 composition records across product categories including unclassified products.
The score describes this ingredient's chemical identity — its hazard profile from published classifications and regulatory status — not the safety of any product it appears in.
Regulation
No restrictions found. Inosinic acid appears in these published regulatory listings.
- Found in consumer products
- Industrial
GLOBALJECFANOT SPECIFIEDJECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: flavour enhancer.
- JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: flavour enhancer.Source →
GLOBALJECFAEvaluatedJECFA evaluation record.
- JECFA evaluation record.Source →
USEPAcommercial use observedEPA CPDat observed this chemical in 0 composition records across product categories including unclassified products.
- EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 0 composition records across product categories including unclassified products.Source →
USFDAlisted in openFDA substanceopenFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.
- openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.Source →
Expert safety opinions
Independent scientific assessments cited by the records we hold, with the year and link where the record gives one.
JECFA
Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives
JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: flavour enhancer.
Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →
JECFA evaluation record.
Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →
EFSA
European Food Safety Authority
No EFSA opinion on file.
Evidence & sources
No graded research studies for Inosinic acid yet. This record is compiled from the published data sources below — registries and regulatory listings, not study findings.
Where this comes from
- Open →
EPA Chemical and Products Database
exposure · updated 2020-08-31
- Open →
EPA DSSTox Identifiers
chemistry · updated 2025-12-29
- Open →
FDA GSRS UNII
registry · updated 2026-02-26
- Open →
WHO JECFA Database
regulatory · updated 2026-10-04
- Open →
openFDA Substance
registry · updated 2026-05-24
- Open →
PubChem Live Enrichment
chemistry · updated 2026-05-17
Reference links (2)
dsld.od.nih.gov
Suitability
Context-specific fit derived from published classifications and the current ingredient evidence profile.
Food use
Food-use source coverage is present in the current record.
The ingredient appears in food-oriented source coverage or allowed-use references, which makes food use easier to support than a context with no domain signal at all.
Fragrance avoidance
No fragrance-linked caution surfaced in the current profile.
This ingredient does not currently read as a fragrance-linked driver in the published evidence and hazard profile.
Where it has been recorded
How often EPA CPDat has listed Inosinic acid in a product composition. These are source records, not Greenveil catalog products.
Named organisations
1
Typical roles
Found in these products
Their ingredient lists include Inosinic acid; each product's own rating depends on its whole formula, so it is shown on the product page, not here.