Skip to content
  • beauty
  • cleaning
  • food
  • industrial

Silicon dioxide

CAS 14808-60-7 · 40/100 · High conf.

Also registered as 181 other CAS numbers

1317-79-9 · 13778-37-5 · 13778-38-6 · 14464-46-1 · 14639-89-5 · 15468-32-3 · 15723-40-7 · 17679-64-0 · 20243-18-9 · 87347-84-0 · 92283-58-4 · 99439-28-8 · 1340-09-6 · 9049-77-8 · 11139-72-3 · 11139-73-4 · 12125-13-2 · 12737-36-9 · 12753-63-8 · 12765-74-1 · 12774-28-6 · 37220-24-9 · 37241-25-1 · 37334-65-9 · 37340-45-7 · 37380-93-1 · 39336-66-8 · 39372-58-2 · 39409-25-1 · 39443-40-8 · 39456-81-0 · 50813-13-3 · 50926-93-7 · 50935-83-6 · 51542-57-5 · 51542-58-6 · 52350-43-3 · 53468-64-7 · 55599-33-2 · 56645-27-3 · +141 more

Silicon dioxide chemical structure

Concern score

40/100Moderate concern based on regulatory listings.
High confidence

Silicon dioxide in plain language

What it is

On cosmetic ingredient lists it appears as “Hydrated silica”.

Also known as Hydrated silica · Silica · Solum diatomeae · Colloidal silicon dioxide · Silica gel · Quso F-22

Show all 74 names

Dental silica · Light anhydrous silicic acid · Amorphous silica · Colloidal anhydrous silica · Dental type silica · Fumed silica · Silicate · Silicone dioxide · Syloid 244 · Syloid silica gel · Amorphous silicon dioxide · Quartz · Sand · Aerosil 255 · Aventurine · Colloidal silicon dioxide anhydrous · Crystallized silicon dioxide · Fumed silicon dioxide · Rock crystal · Silica aerogel · Silica sand · Dental-type silica · Tiger-eye · dioxosilane · .alpha.-tridymite · Aerosil 130 · Aerosil 200 · Aerosil 300 · Aerosil 380 · Agate · Acematt HK 400 · Acematt OK 500 · Acematt TS 100 · Acrifix 122 · Acticel · Adelite 20N · Adelite A · Cab-o-sil M-5P · Christensenite · Carplex · Colloidal silica · Diatomaceous silica · Dicyandiamide · E-551 · Extrusil · Ins NO.551 · INS-551 · Ludox · Neosil · Neosyl · Porasil · Santocel · Silica (From Calcium Carbonate) · Silicic anhydride · Silicon dioxide, SiO2 · Silicon oxide · Silikil · Sillikolloid · Siloxid · Sipernat · Tridymite · Tridymite (SIO2) · Wessalon · Zipax · Zorbax sil · silicon oxide (sio2) · Silicea · Simethicone component silicon dioxide

What it does

Used in cosmetics as an abrasive, an absorbent and an anticaking agent. Silicic acid; synthetic amorphous silicon dioxide.

  • Abrasive
  • Absorbent
  • Anticaking
  • Bulking
  • Opacifying
  • Viscosity controlling
Is it a concern?
Moderate concern: no hazard classifications on record. It is listed for cosmetic use in the EU.

Why it's flagged

EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 0 composition records across product categories including unclassified products.

The score describes this ingredient's chemical identity — its hazard profile from published classifications and regulatory status — not the safety of any product it appears in.

Regulation

No restrictions found. Silicon dioxide appears in these published regulatory listings.

  • In marketed US drugs
  • Inactive ingredient in US drugs

Recorded in these product areas

  • Found in consumer products
  • Cleaning
  • Industrial
  • USFDAinactive ingredient database49 entries — 10 administration routes
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 40 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 168 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: CAPSULE, LIQUID FILLED; Maximum daily exposure: 106 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: DROPS; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: FILM, SOLUBLE; Maximum daily exposure: 2 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE; Potency: 5000 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE, DELAYED RELEASE; Potency: 3.2 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE, FOR SOLUTION; Potency: 1.8 mg/120mlSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 200 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE, FOR SUSPENSION, EXTENDED RELEASE; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: LOZENGE; Maximum daily exposure: 120 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: PELLET; Maximum daily exposure: 34 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER; Maximum daily exposure: 602 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER, FOR SOLUTION; Maximum daily exposure: 280 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 2553 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SOLUTION; Maximum daily exposure: 336 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 400 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 70 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Maximum daily exposure: 336 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, CHEWABLE; Maximum daily exposure: 254 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, CHEWABLE, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 2 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, COATED; Maximum daily exposure: 176 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 1190 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, DELAYED RELEASE PARTICLES; Maximum daily exposure: 170 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 450 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FILM COATED; Maximum daily exposure: 166 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FILM COATED, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 336 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 220 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, ORALLY DISINTEGRATING; Maximum daily exposure: 68 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, ORALLY DISINTEGRATING, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 69 mgSource →
    • Route: RECTAL; Dosage form: SUPPOSITORY; Potency: 14 mgSource →
    • Route: RESPIRATORY (INHALATION); Dosage form: CAPSULE; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: RESPIRATORY (INHALATION); Dosage form: POWDER; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: SUBLINGUAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Maximum daily exposure: 10 mgSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: GEL; Maximum daily exposure: 6 mgSource →
    • Route: TRANSDERMAL; Dosage form: FILM, EXTENDED RELEASE; Potency: 49 mgSource →
    • Route: TRANSDERMAL; Dosage form: SYSTEM; Maximum daily exposure: 35 mgSource →
    • Route: VAGINAL; Dosage form: CREAM; Maximum daily exposure: 51 mgSource →
    • Route: VAGINAL; Dosage form: GEL; Potency: 8 %w/wSource →
    • Route: VAGINAL; Dosage form: INSERT; Maximum daily exposure: 8 mgSource →
    • + 9 more entries not shown
  • EUCosIngActive2 entries
  • EUEFSAEFSA opinion2 entries
    • Re-evaluation of silicon dioxide (E 551) as a food additive (EFSA ANS)Source →
    • Scientific Opinion on the evaluation of the substances currently on the list in the annex to Commission Directive 96/3/EC as acceptable previous cargoes for edible fats and oils - Part II of III (EFSA CONTAM)Source →
  • USEPAcommercial use observed2 entries
    • EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 0 composition records across product categories including unclassified products.Source →
    • EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 18857 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Furniture and furnishings, Raw materials. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Abrasive, Viscosity modifier, Filler.Source →
  • USFDAmarketed drug occurrence2 entries
    • FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 26 active drug products and 26 total products.Source →
    • FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 521 active drug products and 570 total products.Source →
  • USFDAlisted in openFDA substance2 entries
    • openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as concept.Source →
    • openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.Source →
  • EUEFSAEFSA statementCalcium silicate and silicon dioxide/silicic acid gel added for nutritional purposes to food supplements (EFSA ANS)
    • Calcium silicate and silicon dioxide/silicic acid gel added for nutritional purposes to food supplements (EFSA ANS)Source →
  • GLOBALJECFAEvaluatedJECFA evaluation record.
  • GLOBALJECFANOT SPECIFIEDJECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: anticaking agent.
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: anticaking agent.Source →

Expert safety opinions

Independent scientific assessments cited by the records we hold, with the year and link where the record gives one.

  • SCCS

    EU Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety

    No SCCS opinion on file.

  • CIR

    Cosmetic Ingredient Review (US expert panel)

    No CIR safety assessment on file.

  • EFSA

    European Food Safety Authority

    • Re-evaluation of silicon dioxide (E 551) as a food additive (EFSA ANS)

      2018 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

    • Scientific Opinion on the evaluation of the substances currently on the list in the annex to Commission Directive 96/3/EC as acceptable previous cargoes for edible fats and oils - Part II of III (EFSA CONTAM)

      2012 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

    • Calcium silicate and silicon dioxide/silicic acid gel added for nutritional purposes to food supplements (EFSA ANS)

      2009 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

  • JECFA

    Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives

    • JECFA evaluation record.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: anticaking agent.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

Evidence & sources

No graded research studies for Silicon dioxide yet. This record is compiled from the published data sources below — registries and regulatory listings, not study findings.

10 data sources

Where this comes from

  • CosIng

    regulatory · updated 2026-09-23

    Open →
  • EFSA OpenFoodTox

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • EPA Chemical and Products Database

    exposure · updated January 7, 2008

    Open →
  • EPA DSSTox Identifiers

    chemistry · updated 2025-12-29

    Open →
  • FDA Inactive Ingredient Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-01-09

    Open →
  • FDA National Drug Code Directory

    regulatory · updated 2027-12-31

    Open →
  • FDA GSRS UNII

    registry · updated 2026-02-26

    Open →
  • WHO JECFA Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • openFDA Substance

    registry · updated 2026-05-24

    Open →
  • PubChem Live Enrichment

    chemistry · updated 2026-05-17

    Open →
Reference links (2)
Openfda substance

codexalimentarius.net

Suitability

Context-specific fit derived from published classifications and the current ingredient evidence profile.

Food use

Food-use source coverage is present in the current record.

Good fit

The ingredient appears in food-oriented source coverage or allowed-use references, which makes food use easier to support than a context with no domain signal at all.

Fragrance avoidance

No fragrance-linked caution surfaced in the current profile.

Good fit

This ingredient does not currently read as a fragrance-linked driver in the published evidence and hazard profile.

Where it has been recorded

How often FDA National Drug Code directory has listed Silicon dioxide in a product composition. These are source records, not Greenveil catalog products.

Source records

26

Typical roles

AbrasiveAbsorbentAnticakingBulkingOpacifyingViscosity controlling
See products using Silicon dioxide →

Catalog

Found in these products

Their ingredient lists include Silicon dioxide; each product's own rating depends on its whole formula, so it is shown on the product page, not here.

Co-occurrence

Often appears with

Ingredients that frequently appear alongside Silicon dioxide in the catalog.