Skip to content
  • beauty
  • cleaning
  • food
  • industrial

Xanthan gum

E415 · CAS 9088-32-8 · 40/100 · High conf.

Also registered as 19 other CAS numbers

12673-42-6 · 12771-06-1 · 37189-49-4 · 37279-85-9 · 37332-19-7 · 37383-52-1 · 39393-27-6 · 39444-54-7 · 51811-95-1 · 54511-23-8 · 56592-13-3 · 80450-59-5 · 82600-55-3 · 85568-76-9 · 98112-77-7 · 478314-71-5 · 615269-70-0 · 706786-85-8 · 11138-66-2

Concern score

40/100Moderate concern based on regulatory listings.
High confidence

Xanthan gum in plain language

What it is

Also known as RHODIGEL-23 · Corn sugar gum · Monad gum da · Monat gum da · Polysaccharide b 1459 · Xanthan

Show all 27 names

Xanthomonas campestris bacterial coat polysaccharide · Xanthomonas gum · Actigum CX 9 · Biopolymer 9702 · Biopolymer XB 23 · Biozan R · Bisfect XA 200 · Chemicogel · Dehydroxanthan gum · E-415 · E415 · Ins NO.415 · INS-415 · Kelgum · Keltrol · Kelzan · Rhodigel 23 · Rhodopol 23 · Xantural · gummi xanthanum · xanthane gum

What it does

Used in cosmetics as an emulsifier, a skin-conditioning agent and a cleansing agent.

  • Emulsifying
  • Skin conditioning
  • Cleansing
  • Binding
  • Emulsion stabilising
  • Gel forming
Is it a concern?
Moderate concern: no hazard classifications on record. It is listed for cosmetic use in the EU.

As a food additive

E-number
E415
Used in food as
  • Thickener
  • Stabiliser
EU safety status

EFSA re-evaluated E415 in 2017: no safety concern at authorised uses.

It never counts as an additive of concern in a product’s food rating.

Why it's flagged

EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 11892 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Home maintenance, Construction.

The score describes this ingredient's chemical identity — its hazard profile from published classifications and regulatory status — not the safety of any product it appears in.

Regulation

No restrictions found. Xanthan gum appears in these published regulatory listings.

  • In marketed US drugs
  • Inactive ingredient in US drugs

Recorded in these product areas

  • Found in consumer products
  • Beauty
  • Cleaning
  • Pharma
  • Food
  • Industrial
  • USFDAinactive ingredient database28 entries — 4 administration routes
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: FILM, SOLUBLE; Maximum daily exposure: 1 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: GRANULE, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 450 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: LOZENGE; Maximum daily exposure: 1264 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: PASTE; Maximum daily exposure: 1050 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER; Potency: 275 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER, FOR SOLUTION; Potency: 10 mg/5mlSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: POWDER, FOR SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 600 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SOLUTION; Maximum daily exposure: 84 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 360 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION, EXTENDED RELEASE; Potency: 186.8 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION/ DROPS; Maximum daily exposure: 22 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET; Maximum daily exposure: 56 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, CHEWABLE, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 6 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 528 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, FILM COATED; Potency: 0.08 mgSource →
    • Route: OPHTHALMIC; Dosage form: SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 2 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, ORALLY DISINTEGRATING, DELAYED RELEASE; Maximum daily exposure: 36 mgSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TROCHE; Maximum daily exposure: 948 mgSource →
    • Route: RECTAL; Dosage form: ENEMA; Maximum daily exposure: 150 mgSource →
    • Route: RECTAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION; Maximum daily exposure: 452 mgSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: AEROSOL, FOAM; Potency: 0.27 %w/wSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: CREAM; Maximum daily exposure: 46 mgSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: GEL; Maximum daily exposure: 58 mgSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: LOTION; Potency: 0.3 %w/vSource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: SUSPENSION; Potency: 0.11 %w/vSource →
    • Route: OPHTHALMIC; Dosage form: SOLUTION, GEL FORMING, EXTENDED RELEASE; Potency: 0.6 %w/wSource →
    • Route: OPHTHALMIC; Dosage form: SOLUTION; Potency: 0.6 %w/vSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, ORALLY DISINTEGRATING; Potency: 0.15 mgSource →
  • EUEFSAEFSA opinion2 entries
    • Safety and efficacy of an additive consisting of xanthan gum produced by Xanthomonas campestris strains for all animal species (Biopolymer International) (EFSA FEEDAP)Source →
    • Re-evaluation of xanthan gum (E 415) as a food additive (EFSA ANS)Source →
  • EUCosIngActiveXanthan gum
  • GLOBALJECFANOT SPECIFIEDJECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: thickener, emulsifier, foaming agent, stabilizer.
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: thickener, emulsifier, foaming agent, stabilizer.Source →
  • USEPAcommercial use observedEPA CPDat observed this chemical in 11892 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Home maintenance, Construction. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Viscosity modifier, Binder, Thickening agent.
    • EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 11892 composition records across product categories including Construction and building materials, Home maintenance, Construction. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Viscosity modifier, Binder, Thickening agent.Source →
  • USFDAmarketed drug occurrenceFDA NDC lists this ingredient in 1 active drug products and 4 total products.
    • FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 1 active drug products and 4 total products.Source →
  • USFDAlisted in openFDA substanceopenFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as structurallydiverse.
    • openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as structurallydiverse.Source →
  • USUSDA FoodData Centralobserved in branded food ingredient statementsObserved in 4 USDA branded foods including 1.5OZ LITEHOUSE BALSAMIC VINAIGRETTE, 1.5OZ LITEHOUSE CHUNKY BLUE CHEESE DRESSING, 1.5OZ LITEHOUSE JALAPENO RANCH DRESSING.
    • Observed in 4 USDA branded foods including 1.5OZ LITEHOUSE BALSAMIC VINAIGRETTE, 1.5OZ LITEHOUSE CHUNKY BLUE CHEESE DRESSING, 1.5OZ LITEHOUSE JALAPENO RANCH DRESSING.Source →

Expert safety opinions

Independent scientific assessments cited by the records we hold, with the year and link where the record gives one.

  • SCCS

    EU Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety

    No SCCS opinion on file.

  • CIR

    Cosmetic Ingredient Review (US expert panel)

    No CIR safety assessment on file.

  • EFSA

    European Food Safety Authority

    • Safety and efficacy of an additive consisting of xanthan gum produced by Xanthomonas campestris strains for all animal species (Biopolymer International) (EFSA FEEDAP)

      2021 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

    • Re-evaluation of xanthan gum (E 415) as a food additive (EFSA ANS)

      2017 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

  • JECFA

    Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: thickener, emulsifier, foaming agent, stabilizer.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

Evidence & sources

No graded research studies for Xanthan gum yet. This record is compiled from the published data sources below — registries and regulatory listings, not study findings.

10 data sources

Where this comes from

  • CosIng

    regulatory · updated 2026-09-23

    Open →
  • EFSA OpenFoodTox

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • EPA Chemical and Products Database

    exposure · updated october 14, 2014

    Open →
  • EPA DSSTox Identifiers

    chemistry · updated 2025-12-29

    Open →
  • FDA Inactive Ingredient Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-01-09

    Open →
  • FDA National Drug Code Directory

    regulatory · updated 2028-03-06

    Open →
  • FDA GSRS UNII

    registry · updated 2026-02-26

    Open →
  • WHO JECFA Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • openFDA Substance

    registry · updated 2026-05-24

    Open →
  • USDA Branded Foods

    product_occurrence · updated 2026-02-19

    Open →
Reference links (3)
Openfda substance

commonchemistry.org

Openfda substance

codexalimentarius.net

Suitability

Context-specific fit derived from published classifications and the current ingredient evidence profile.

Food use

Food-use source coverage is present in the current record.

Good fit

The ingredient appears in food-oriented source coverage or allowed-use references, which makes food use easier to support than a context with no domain signal at all.

Fragrance avoidance

No fragrance-linked caution surfaced in the current profile.

Good fit

This ingredient does not currently read as a fragrance-linked driver in the published evidence and hazard profile.

Where it has been recorded

How often EPA CPDat has listed Xanthan gum in a product composition. These are source records, not Greenveil catalog products.

Source records

11,892

Named organisations

6

Construction and building materialsHome maintenanceConstructionLaboratory suppliesMedical/dentalFood and drug

Typical roles

EmulsifyingSkin conditioningCleansingBindingEmulsion stabilisingGel forming
See products using Xanthan gum →

Catalog

Found in these products

Their ingredient lists include Xanthan gum; each product's own rating depends on its whole formula, so it is shown on the product page, not here.

Co-occurrence

Often appears with

Ingredients that frequently appear alongside Xanthan gum in the catalog.