Skip to content
  • beauty
  • cleaning
  • food
  • industrial

Hydrogen peroxide

CAS 8007-30-5 · 70/100 · High conf.

Also registered as 5 other CAS numbers

37355-84-3 · 66554-50-5 · 97929-73-2 · 218625-72-0 · 7722-84-1

Hydrogen peroxide chemical structure

Concern score

70/100High concern based on regulatory listings.
High confidence

Hydrogen peroxide in plain language

What it is

On cosmetic ingredient lists it appears as “Calcium peroxide”.

Also known as Calcium peroxide · Magnesium peroxide · Pvp-hydrogen peroxide · Sodium carbonate peroxide · Sodium perborate · Strontium peroxide

Show all 44 names

Urea peroxide · Zinc peroxide · Oxydol · Hyrogen peroxide · A-101 · Adeka Super EL · Albone · Albone 35 · Albone 35CG · Albone 50 · Albone DS · Anti-Keim 50 · Asepticper · Baquashock · Clarigel Gold · Dihydrogen dioxide · Eskata · Elawox · H2O2 · Hioxyl · Hydrogen dioxide · Hydrogen peroxide (H2O2) · Inhibine · Interox · Kastone · Lensept · Perone · Peroxaan · Superoxol · T-Stuff · hydrogen peroxide (sara iii) · hydrogen peroxide (sara 302) · hydrogenii peroxidum · hydroperoxide · perhydrol · peroxide · Hydrogen peroxide in aqueous solution · Hydrogen peroxide solution

What it does

Used in cosmetics as an antimicrobial, an oral-care ingredient and an oxidising agent. Hydrogen Peroxide is the inorganic oxide.

  • Antimicrobial
  • Oral care
  • Oxidising
  • Preservative
  • Stabiliser
  • Foaming agent
Is it a concern?
High concern: no hazard classifications on record. It is restricted in EU cosmetics.

Why it's flagged

Hydrogen peroxide and other compounds or mixtures that release hydrogen peroxide, including carbamide peroxide and zinc peroxide, with the exception of the following substances in Annex II: No 1397, 1398, 1399 is restricted in cosmetic products under Annex III of the EU Cosmetics Regulation (EC) 1223/2009.

RestrictedEU EC — restricted

The score describes this ingredient's chemical identity — its hazard profile from published classifications and regulatory status — not the safety of any product it appears in.

Regulation

Restrictions first, then routine listings from published regulatory sources.

  • In marketed US drugs
  • EU Annex III — restricted
  • EU restricted in cosmetics
  • Inactive ingredient in US drugs

Recorded in these product areas

  • Found in consumer products
  • Beauty
  • Cleaning
  • Pharma
  • Food
  • Industrial
  • EUEC

    Annex III of EU Cosmetics Regulation (EC) 1223/2009: substances which cosmetic products must not contain except subject to the restrictions laid down. Product types: (a) Hair products (b) Skin products (c) Nail hardening products (d) Oral products, including mouth rinse, tooth paste and tooth whitening or bleaching products (e) Tooth whitening or bleaching products (f) Products intended for eyelashes Maximum concentration: (a) 12 % of H2O2 (40 volumes), present or released (b) 4 % of H2O2, present or released (c) 2 % of H2O2, present or released (d) ≤ 0,1 % of H2O2, present or released (e) > 0,1 % ≤ 6 % of H2O2, present or released (f) 2 % of H2O2, present or released Other conditions: (e) To be only sold to dental practitioners. For each cycle of use, first use by dental practitioners as defined under Directive 2005/36/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council* or under their direct supervision if an equivalent level of safety is ensured. Afterwards to be provided to the consumer to complete the cycle of use. Not to be used on a person under 18 years of age. (f) For… Conditions of use and warnings: (a) (f) Wear suitable gloves (a) (b) (c) (e) Contains hydrogen peroxide Avoid contact with eyes Rinse immediately if product comes into contact with them. (e) Concentration of H2O2 present or released indicated in percentage. Not to be used on a person under 18 years of age. To be only sold to dental practitioners. For each cycle of use, the first use to be only done by dental practitioners or…

    restricted
    View source →
  • USFDAinactive ingredient database3 entries — 2 administration routes
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: SOLUTION; Potency: 0.16 %w/wSource →
    • Route: ORAL; Dosage form: TABLET, DELAYED RELEASE; Potency: NASource →
    • Route: TOPICAL; Dosage form: SPONGE; Potency: 0.2 %w/wSource →
  • EUCosIngActive2 entries
    • Cosmetics Regulation annex III / ref 12.Source →
    • Hydrogen Peroxide is the inorganic oxide that conforms to the formula Restriction: III/12Source →
  • EUEFSAEFSA opinion2 entries
    • Scientific Opinion on the safety evaluation of the active substances, sodium carbonate peroxyhydrate coated with sodium carbonate and sodium silicate, bentonite, sodium chloride, sodium carbonate for use in active food contact materials (EFSA CEF)Source →
    • Scientific Opinion on the evaluation of substances as acceptable previous cargoes for edible fats and oils (EFSA CONTAM)Source →
  • GLOBALJECFAEvaluatedJECFA evaluation record.
  • GLOBALJECFANOT SPECIFIEDJECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: preservative.
    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: preservative.Source →
  • USEPAcommercial use observedEPA CPDat observed this chemical in 2403 composition records across product categories including Pet and animal care, Cleaning products and household care, Laboratory supplies. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Bleaching agent, Cleaning agent, Biocide.
    • EPA CPDat observed this chemical in 2403 composition records across product categories including Pet and animal care, Cleaning products and household care, Laboratory supplies. EPA CPDat classifies this chemical for functional uses including Bleaching agent, Cleaning agent, Biocide.Source →
  • USFDAmarketed drug occurrenceFDA NDC lists this ingredient in 154 active drug products and 158 total products.
    • FDA NDC lists this ingredient in 154 active drug products and 158 total products.Source →
  • USFDAlisted in openFDA substanceopenFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.
    • openFDA substance registry classifies this ingredient as chemical.Source →

Expert safety opinions

Independent scientific assessments cited by the records we hold, with the year and link where the record gives one.

  • SCCS

    EU Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety

    No SCCS opinion on file.

  • CIR

    Cosmetic Ingredient Review (US expert panel)

    No CIR safety assessment on file.

  • EFSA

    European Food Safety Authority

    • Scientific Opinion on the safety evaluation of the active substances, sodium carbonate peroxyhydrate coated with sodium carbonate and sodium silicate, bentonite, sodium chloride, sodium carbonate for use in active food contact materials (EFSA CEF)

      2013 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

    • Scientific Opinion on the evaluation of substances as acceptable previous cargoes for edible fats and oils (EFSA CONTAM)

      2009 · EU EFSA listing · Read the source →

  • JECFA

    Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives

    • JECFA evaluation record.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

    • JECFA evaluation lists ADI NOT SPECIFIED. Functional class: preservative.

      Year not recorded · GLOBAL JECFA listing · Read the source →

Evidence & sources

No graded research studies for Hydrogen peroxide yet. This record is compiled from the published data sources below — registries and regulatory listings, not study findings.

11 data sources

Where this comes from

  • CosIng

    regulatory · updated 2026-09-23

    Open →
  • EU CosIng Cosmetics Regulation Annexes

    regulatory · updated 2020-07-27

    Open →
  • EFSA OpenFoodTox

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • EPA Chemical and Products Database

    exposure · updated september 28, 2015

    Open →
  • EPA DSSTox Identifiers

    chemistry · updated 2025-12-29

    Open →
  • FDA Inactive Ingredient Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-01-09

    Open →
  • FDA National Drug Code Directory

    regulatory · updated 2028-04-30

    Open →
  • FDA GSRS UNII

    registry · updated 2026-02-26

    Open →
  • WHO JECFA Database

    regulatory · updated 2026-10-04

    Open →
  • openFDA Substance

    registry · updated 2026-05-24

    Open →
  • PubChem Live Enrichment

    chemistry · updated 2026-05-17

    Open →

Suitability

Context-specific fit derived from published classifications and the current ingredient evidence profile.

Food use

Food-use source coverage is present in the current record.

Good fit

The ingredient appears in food-oriented source coverage or allowed-use references, which makes food use easier to support than a context with no domain signal at all.

Fragrance avoidance

No fragrance-linked caution surfaced in the current profile.

Good fit

This ingredient does not currently read as a fragrance-linked driver in the published evidence and hazard profile.

Where it has been recorded

How often EPA CPDat has listed Hydrogen peroxide in a product composition. These are source records, not Greenveil catalog products.

Source records

2,403

Named organisations

6

Pet and animal careCleaning products and household careLaboratory suppliesHome maintenanceSpecialty occupational productsRaw materials

Typical roles

AntimicrobialOral careOxidisingPreservativeStabiliserFoaming agent
See products using Hydrogen peroxide →

Catalog

Found in these products

Their ingredient lists include Hydrogen peroxide; each product's own rating depends on its whole formula, so it is shown on the product page, not here.

Co-occurrence

Often appears with

Ingredients that frequently appear alongside Hydrogen peroxide in the catalog.